The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I haven't registered for FATT at the moment but I am going to wait last minute to register.
I usually do this to keep an eye out on the forecast because for some reason, the rain and thunder love to wait for track days.
At this time, I'm seeing 55% chance for rain at Summit Point, WV.
Now I'm not discouraging rain track days as you get the most out of those (my first track day in the 400 was in heavy rain at Summit Point!) but given its only one day and insurance alone for the 400 will cost almost twice the cost of entry, it might not seem worth it to come if its forecasted to rain. I'd rather spend that time with the family driving to Canaan Valley and having more time at LOG.
I've been driving Shenandoah circuit for 3 years. For those who don't know or have never been, its got a ton of turns but in the rain, its pretty slick and a bit hazardous (a bit more than other tracks) and walls are pretty close. Just want to throw that out there for those considering for us mid-engine folk, not to discourage but just to warn given there is no refund following registeration. I've seen a few of my buddies wreck in the rain and would absolutely hate for it to happen to anyone especially before LOG. Although its incredibly rewarding, it can be pretty intimidating and nerve-wrecking for people not familiar with the track or novices.
But hopefully, the forecast clears up and we can enjoy a clear day in which case, disregard!!!

Just for reference and for fun, here's some of my rain day moments from Shenandoah in my Toyota 86, conservatively driving, to give you guys an idea

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Shenandoah is a great track for a Lotus. I'm hoping to make it out there pending other commitments. Here's a video from my Elise last year; yes I'm slow, but still a lot of fun.