The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Evora GT in Formula Red, coordinated black+red interior, windowed engine hatch
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been lurking for a while, reading and getting educated, before I created an account and embarrassed myself too badly. {grin} Now it's time to ask a few questions.

First, a little about me. As my username suggests, I'm an Engineer (primarily electronic hardware/software/firmware, with a bit of mechanical and production engineering tossed in). You'd have to work hard to find anyone more integrated and involved in technology than me, but I've also learned to apply technology where it's appropriate and - perhaps more importantly - NOT mindlessly use it where it's not.

That's why the Lotus mindset has appealed to the Engineer in me for decades. For example, I don't think touchscreens belong in an automobile. "Old-school" rotary knobs are the correct choice for things that are inherently analog like cabin temperature. Analog gauges are often faster for the human optical path to acquire and interpret in real time. I like traditional car keys rather than RF-based fobs. The electronics industry has been very good to me throughout my career, but that does not mean that more is always better.

I got a chance to test drive a Lotus when I was 18YO and have never forgotten the experience. In the meantime life has never been arranged such that owning one was even a remote possibility. But now our son is off to college, my career is reasonably well established, and my finances make it just possible to consider ownership.