The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just came home from an amazing track day hosted by Shinoo and Sector 111 at Streets Of Willow. What a great day. If you've never taken your Lotus on a track...FIND A WAY TO DO IT!... THIS is what these cars were built for.
Shinoo was kind enough to let us try a set of Yokahama slicks (available thru Sector) to experience the differance between Street tires and slicks...I was BLOWN AWAY. I'm an ok driver. My average times on Streets is around 1:30 (clockwise with the bowl). The best time I had all day was high 1:30's (very hot day and track) on Toyo r888's. Then I put on the slicks...1:26.3!!!
FOUR SECONDS simply by puttiing on a set of slicks...amazing. Maybe I'm just naive but that seems HUGE. More experienced track guys may wonder what I'm going on about , but for a novice like me, that was pretty cool. Thanks Shinoo!

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My best time was 1:29.7 on perfect Toyo r888's and a perfect track (air temp, 70 degrees). Today it was 100 degrees. The track temps had to be 125. On slicks on a very greasy track, I beat my best time ever by 3 seconds...pretty significant.

·
Registered
1,162 Posts
My best time was 1:29.7 on perfect Toyo r888's and a perfect track (air temp, 70 degrees). Today it was 100 degrees. The track temps had to be 125. On slicks on a very greasy track, I beat my best time ever by 3 seconds...pretty significant.
yesterday was hot i had a 129 and a bunch of 130s in the mornining. it was about 2-3 seconds slower in the pm. in cooler conditions i can run in the 28s slicks are good for2-3 seconds depending on the driver. on the big track i had a set of Jacks on my old elise and i ran a 137 compaired to high 39s on 048s. Craig Stantion took the car with slicks and did a 130.04 with a 30-45mph head wind on the straight. carl

·
Premium Member
4,676 Posts