The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, my retinal detachment recovery is over so I'm getting back to flushing my Esprit I just bought. I recoated the coolant tank because it was rust city and kept even new coolant very dirty. So dirty, in fact, that I wonder if draining and filling the coolant system with CLR and letting it run would be a good idea.. Followed by tap water, then a proper flushing chemical, then distilled water, and finally actual coolant. Thoughts?

·
Premium Member
26 Posts
I would strongly suggest not using "CLR" in your cooling system, Read the cautions in the manufacturers website and I think you will agree, There are very few products I would trust in our engines, Areas of concern are : Cylinder liner sealants, water pump seal and solder joints in Radiator tanks. One product I have been using for several years is called "No-Rosion", I use their flush and corrosion inhibitor, I have seen improvements in my coolant during yearly tests. One more thing, usually when coolant shows the appearance you describe it can be advanced deterioration of the hoses thorough the system, last be careful with your choice of coolant, I run IAT coolant in both of my Esprit's

Best wishes, Lou

·
Registered
2006 Lotus Elise BRG
497 Posts
Not an expert but I used an Evaporust product made specifically for cooling systems on my E21 BMW with pretty good success. It's been 3 years since doing the flush and it's still running fine. No latent issues. The worst part was the smell of the stuff, it's awful.

·
Wingless Wonder
1988 Esprit Turbo
6,868 Posts