The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I finally did it: I raced in a sanctioned auto race this past weekend (Aug 2-3). It was at Road America in WI with NASA in my (FINALLY finished) Porsche 944, which I had prepped for the 944spec series (as apposed to 944Cup which is more open). Each race day is three sessions: Practice (20 mins), qualifying (20 mins) and a race (40 mins to give us enough laps since RA is a long track at 4 miles/lap). I should note that we ran with several other classes for a total of more than 30 cars on the track at once, with more than a full minute separating the fastest car from the slowest.

While I have been driving DE's* for the last 4 years, as well as attending SkipBarber 3 and 2 day racing schools, this was my very first w2w racing ever. I took a whole week off from work so I could get the car ready/finished -- which took working on it 12 hours a day for 6 days.

Day 1: Friday, Aug 1
Leave home at around 5:30 AM, having packed everything in the trailer the night before. Arrive at the track around 11:00 AM and head into registration. Friday was listed as a "test and tune", and while I was registered for the races on Saturday and Sunday I wanted to get as much time in the car before hand so I signed up for the TnT right there -- giving me two 20 min sessions to get my feet wet in this car. Also, since I just finished the car the day before, it hadn't been inspected yet so I first inquired about getting that done. Found out it wasn't really necessary until Saturday and I could run Friday as-is.