The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As a newbie I am learning about my Lotus every time a take it out. This forum is helpful but one problem is that you have to search for things and unless you know what to search for in advance you won't get the benefit of forum wisdom just by reading the most recent 500+ threads. So, in that spirit I am sharing a story and a useful bit of information....

Last weekend I took my Elise on a road trip to visit my elderly father so he could go for a ride in it (it is hard to put an invalid man in a Louts and harder to get one out). On the highway and at various stops I got the full treatment: people taking pictures while driving, people wanting to race, stupid questions like "Is that your Lotus" and answering, "No, I stole it."

Since my trip was 1100 miles of mostly highway driving I was able to determine my gas mileage. I consistently got 250 miles per tank and fill ups were 9 gallons with one bar left on the fuel gauge (about 28mpg) while driving 75-90mph. However, on the return trip the fuel light came on (1 bar) and I was at 240 miles so I pulled off the highway for fuel. I had to stop at a light on a downgrade before turning left into a fairly steep uphill grade to the gas station. When the light turned green I pulled out slowly and as I started the uphill grade the engine cut out. I rolled to the shoulder and put on the flashers and sat for minute to ponder - did the ignition die? WTF? I then decided to restart the car - it ran so I pulled in to the station and filled up. I didn't have any more problems after that but it sure gave me a scare (being in the middle of western Virginia far away from civilization - I consider the presence of a Lotus dealer is a pretty good indicator of a location being civilized).

After searching the forums to try and figure out what happened, this is was I think I learned: