The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK Im a newbie and couldnt find an existing link. I understand the aero components of the exige provide 100lb of downforce (although the old hand book has it as 100kgs) However, the actual construction of having the wing attached to a weak rear engine cover that sits on the rear clam and not stabilized to the main substructure makes me wonder how much of the down force is actually transmitted to the suspension and not just lost on a floaty engine cover. Does that make sense? Ive spent a fair amount of time in aviation and never had a functional wing that wasnt integral to the substructure. Ok dorkey question and double negatives, sorry. It still looks cool though.

·
Registered
9,786 Posts
OK Im a newbie and couldnt find an existing link. I understand the aero components of the exige provide 100lb of downforce (although the old hand book has it as 100kgs) However, the actual construction of having the wing attached to a weak rear engine cover that sits on the rear clam and not stabilized to the main substructure makes me wonder how much of the down force is actually transmitted to the suspension and not just lost on a floaty engine cover. Does that make sense? Ive spent a fair amount of time in aviation and never had a functional wing that wasnt integral to the substructure. Ok dorkey question and double negatives, sorry. It still looks cool though.
Umm... no, it doesn't make sense. If 100 pounds of down force is generated by the rear wing, 100 pounds of additional force will be placed on the rear wheels... it doesn't matter how flimsy the rear engine cover is; as long as it doesn't break (or deflect so much that the wing's angle of attack is compromised), it will transmit the force.