The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
V EQLS IR
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all -

This post is almost (to the exact day!) two months late. I'm sure you all understand, since obtaining your first Lotus at the beginning of summer sort of makes the rest of the world disappear for a few months. Anyhow, finally got some time to sit down and write this! This will most likely be a long post, so my apologies for that.

My story is pretty typical, so I won't bore you with the usual "i wanted a lotus forever, blah blah blah" stuff. The cliff notes version is that in '05 when I graduated from college I looked at purchasing one brand new. Decided not to (thank god), and instead worked for a few years, bought a house, got married, and got life squared away. Now that I have a garage, a separate daily driver, and a bit of spare cash to correctly care for one, I decided to bite. Also, 'lotus before the age of 30' was on my bucket list :)

Little bit about me first. I am originally from a small town outside Milwaukee (Hartford, WI to be exact) and moved down to attend school in '01. (at Milwaukee School of Engineering). I am an electrical engineer with minors in physics and mathematics, and I currently work at Microchip Technology (MCHP) designing touchscreen controller ASIC's for various consumer devices.

Instead of buying the elise in '05, my responsible side got the best of me and I grabbed up a Scion tC, which had only been out for a few months at the time. (Then about 50,000 teenage girls and 50,000 6" exhaust loving bro's bought them, but I digress...) I do actually love that car, as it now has ~125k miles on it, most being city, without anything more than oil/pads/rotors/tires. It's actually quite fun to roll around in, in that "fun to drive a slow car fast" way.