The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm hearing people say the Gullwing hardtop is available for our cars? If so that kind of ticks me off as I would've preferred to buy that instead of the standard hardtop. Anyone know if this is true and if so how much extra is it to get one?

·
Registered
591 Posts
It is not a Lotus option. It is an aftermarket item. I will let someone else post the price, but I think the conversion rate equated to the high side of $2500 without VAT, unpainted.

I think one our sponsors is importing them.

Greg

·
Registered
8,270 Posts
They look good Arno, from what I understand it all boils down to the centeral bar and how it mounts.

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
I have no experience with any of these roofs.

All I know is that the one from Production Glassfibre (who bought the original company who desinged this one, middlemoor) is cheaper. It's probably also technically less advanced than the one from Autostyle.

For instance the Autostyle one uses no front transverse fixture, but manages to attach and seal the removable panels to the windscreen surround directly. The one from production glassfibre 'cheats' a little and uses an 'H' shape for the frame that the panels fit into.

Technically more advanced features are often also more expensive to design and manufacture, which is reflected in the price of the products.

For both roofs the panels can be stored in the luggage compartiment and yes. The biggest 'trick' is the center T-bar piece which you install semi-permanently so you can then insert/remove the 'doors' quickly.

Bye, Arno.

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hmmmmmmmm nevermind then. Looks like the T-bar is a permanent fixture. I was thinking it would remove just like the normal hardtop. The gullwings were just a nice option for getting in and out with out removing the whole top. For twice the price I'll just stick with the standard hardtop. Thanks for the links.

·