The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
***** lurker
732 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've made up a relatively long list of projects for my car this year. I'm in the middle of completing some of the smaller ones, but one of the more in depth mods is going to be designing/fabricating/installing a shift mechanism that will allow for sequential shifting. I know similar devices are available for purchase, but they're pricey and as an Engineer, I'm looking forward to the challenge of "getting there," not just the result.

Obviously, at this point, manual operation of the clutch will still be required. I've gone through quite a few ideas and the one I've settled on for "Stage 1" will be ratchet drive cam profiles that will actuate the transmission cables. Basically, a purely mechanical system (minus the eventual addition of a small display to let me know what gear I'm in). The current profile designs are based on some measurements I found on the forum, but I plan to take my center console out to make measurements of mounting points and cable movement. The new short-shifter kits sound like the will greatly aid in making my design more feasible since (if I understand correctly) the cable throws can be shortened to give a lower incidence angle between the cam wheels and follower pins.

I'll post some images of my current design work when I get a few free minutes. I just wanted to create a thread to get some feedback during the process and document what I'm doing, for my own good. Also, while constructive advice/criticism is preferred, please feel free to post any comments you want in here... just try to stay on topic as much as possible.

I'm not making these to sell them, its just going to be a one-off for my car. Eventually, it will get modified further in keeping with some other ideas myself and my co-workers have come up with.

·
Registered
9,297 Posts