The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone installed these pads for their front brakes/wheels? I don't track my Elise, but I do drive it briskly through curvy mountainous areas. ;)

Has anyone "machined" their rotors? The top section of ther front passenger rotot is a little "rough", and I was wondering who can turn these rotors with the holes on them? (Note: there is still 25+ left on all rotors, mileage is ~ 13,500.

:shift: <--- not me right now :(

·
Registered
882 Posts
My opinion is don't machine your rotor. The only advantage to machine it is reducing the bedding time, but the pads are agressive enough to bed in pretty short time anyway.

I never try the Hawk performance on the Elise, sorry.

Reactions: FyndFyre

·
Registered
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What are the benefits of ceramic brake pads?

This is from an article I read. I'm not a brake expert, so some here may agree or disagree with the content/opinion. Nevertheless, here it is:

"Why Ceramic Brake Pads?

We want our vehicle's brake system to offer smooth, quiet braking capabilities under a wide range of temperature and road conditions. We don't want brake-generated noise and dust annoying us during our daily driving.

To accommodate this, brake friction materials have evolved significantly over the years. They've gone from asbestos to organic to semi-metallic formulations. Each of these materials has proven to have advantages and disadvantages regarding environmental friendliness, wear, noise and stopping capability.

Asbestos pads caused health issues and organic compounds can't always meet a wide range of braking requirements. Unfortunately the steel strands used in semi-metallic pads to provide strength and conduct heat away from rotors also generate noise and are abrasive enough to increase rotor wear.