The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm signing up for some classes this year since I desperately need them. I know I'm only getting about 50% our of my RS4 because of my inabilities. And I want to make sure that when I get my Elise, I can enjoy it to it's fullest as well - and safely! I'm a pretty good driver, I think, but I'd likely be dead on a racetrack in about 3 seconds. Plus, I honestly think that knowing better racing techniques can be applied to the road for safer driving and a better understanding of how and what to do if you lose control, and how to avoid it.

So I have a three part question.

1) When, exactly, do you do the heel and toe downshift? Is the downshift completed BEFORE you enter the turn or as you hit the Apex?
2) Do most of you double-clutch downshift or just single clutch and let synchromesh do it's job?
3) Do most cars (specifically the Elise) come standard with the pedals pretty much set up for heel and toe shifting? Or do you guys jod the car to make it easier? I've seen a million mods but none mention adjusting the pedals, so I'm assuming the car is pretty easy to heel and toe as is.

Also, and sort of unreleated- which classes do you guys recommend? Barber? Lotus (in Vegas)? Porsche driving school? Areal Atom experience? Etc...

I'm planning on way more then 1 class, but I'd like an order so I don't go to one that is really more for advanced drivers first...

FInally, does anyone suggest a good source for me to read about and understand driving theory so I'm sort of versed on the classroom stuff before I go?

Thanks.

-Matt :nanner2:

·
Registered
386 Posts
1) When, exactly, do you do the heel and toe downshift? Is the downshift completed BEFORE you enter the turn or as you hit the Apex?

Before the turn-in point, usually. Note that you can still be braking as you turn in, but usually you'd want to get the downshifts done by then.