The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi! I am a CNC machinist and programmer with several 3 and 4 axis CNC machines available. I mainly work with aluminum because the tools and time needed to machine harder metals makes fun projects like this take too long. I'm simply trying to have do a little custom work for my car, not engine work but maybe some billet suspension, interior, exterior components and stuff like that.

I recently purchased a Lotus Elise... I have seen some pretty basic stuff made for these cars by several aftermarket manufacturers. I would much rather build my own stuff though and since I have the capabilities I cant resist :)

Im not sure what to make... I would like to keep it simple at first so small parts would be ideal. My cousin has the Lid-bone on her Elise and I have the sliding extruded cup holder. Im not really trying to make either of those. I have read about people milling some of the suspension, Im not opposed to this, it sounds interesting so that is a possibility... any suggestions in the suspension area?

Are there any Lotus owners out there that can think of something that might benefit their car in any way? Shoot me some ideas... lets see what we can dream up.

If I end up making something that you design I will send you the part ;)

Thanks,
Derek

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
A bracket to relocate the stock oil cooler (coolers?) from the front of the car, into the engine bay.
Awesome! Thanks for the quick response and suggestion! :)

A few questions:
Where at in the engine bay are you trying to mount the oil coolers? I can only think of two possible locations...
What is the benefit of doing this?

Give me some more details and Ill check the oil coolers and your desired location out on my Elise :)

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You could make us some of these:

raceUPRIGHTS for your Lotus