The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to get a sweet drivers car. One that has feedback and a great feel. My background is Mustangs. My last three cars were mustangs. A stroked 347, a blown kenne belle 89, and a vortech blown with built motor 96 cobra. I'm tired of those cars so I sold them. I want something that "feels good" to drive instead of just being fast. To me, muscle cars are boring. Yeah fast acceleration is fun but I get more enjoyment out of the entire driving experience. Braking, shifting, cornering, heel/toe downshifts, and slamming a car into a corner. Acceleration in a straight line is probably the least exciting part about driving.

My question is that my budget is 31k right now. What are some cars I should be looking at? I'm looking at the 05-06 Elise, used Porsche boxster s, Mazda mx-5, used Porsche 911, used Honda s2000. I could probably get a new mx 5. I am fully aware that for the price I could get a used z06 vette or almost brand new 400hp mustang but like I said those type of cars are boring drive.

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts
Get an inexpensive Elise, then supercharge it. That way you get some grunt to go with the handling. It should be doable with a 31k total budget.

·
Closer than you think
2,222 Posts
I don't know. Maybe it's the season being spring but it seems 31k will only get you a damaged Elise or one without any options.
Where are you looking?!!! $31k buys a lot of Lotus in the 2005-2006 range! At that price it should be low miles/ near perfect condition...

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #7