The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, everyone. Konnichiwa. This would be my very first post on lotustalk (lot-u-stalk:no:). A brief introduction about me: I am a college student who recently bought a brand-new 2009 Honda Civic Si coupe. I would love to get a lotus but to be honest, the car is a bit out of my price range at the moment. But not for long! As soon as I graduate and land a well-paying job, Lotus Elise will be the very first thing I buy (assuming I can get a job in this economy).

I've been reading lot of posts here to learn about this awesome car as much as I can but there are some questions yet to be answered. If a few of you Lotus gurus can answer my questions and give me deeper insight into Lotus history & culture, it'd be much appreciated. So anyway, here are my questions pertaining to Elise:

1. Why did Lotus choose to go with Toyota engine instead of more reliable Honda motors? Any chance (however slight) that future Lotus Elise will be equipped with Honda's K20 motors?

2. I am a fan of NA motors. But my attachment to NA engines is primarily due to the notion that boosted engines come at the cost of shortened lifespan. Have any of you Elise S or Exige owners experienced problems inherent to boosted motors?

3. I've visited Sector111 for a full carbon-fiber body kit for Elise but I did not see such offer. I don't mind the $30k price tag if it means shaving over 215 lbs from the stock weight of 1985 lbs. Where can I get the full CF body kit for Elise?

4. Many more questions will be forthcoming but for now, time for me to hit those books!

That's it for now. Just don't chew me out if I throw some clueless questions from time to time.

·
Not the admin anymore
11,953 Posts
Hi.....and welcome!!! :wave:

·
Registered
2,026 Posts