The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys, im new here and this is my first time to own an elise. I would like to ask for your help regarding high fuel consumption on my newly acquired 2005 lotus elise with 4k miles on the mileage. My consumption is around 4.8kms per liter(city driving with 97octane gas) with no modifications. Sorry i dont know how to convert liters to mpg. I hope you can help me look for the problem. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
Took me forever to get mine down to 4 mpg. But the new supercharger and getting more comfortable about pushing the limits finally broke the 7 mpg and I finally achieved my 4 mpg goal!!!

Vroooom!!!

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Took me forever to get mine down to 4 mpg. But the new supercharger and getting more comfortable about pushing the limits finally broke the 7 mpg and I finally achieved my 4 mpg goal!!!

Vroooom!!!
How many sec is your 0-60mph? Quarter mile?

I want to acheive 23-25mpg (normal city driving) Thats why im asking for help because my engine might have problems thats why i only acheive 11+mpg on my elise (city driving). My ap2 s2000 is more economical :-(

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
My 2011 SC Elise is also abysmal on gas. I've noticed that if you lay into it and rev all day, it's worse than an SUV. IF you keep the rpms under 3000 and go very gentle, it's 10x better.

But let's be honest, there's no point in discussing mileage here. Enjoy it.

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts
Saketome,
Unless you constantly on the throttle hard, and never just cruise, I don't see how 11mpg is possible on a stock NA 2005 Elise. Before all my upgraded (see signature), I was mid-twenty miles per gallon city, and about 33MPG highway driving. Even with all the mods I average mid-twenties in mixed driving. I think something is wrong with your car, or you put a brick on your gas pedal.

·
Registered
277 Posts