The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings from Texas!

Long time Lotus admirer, soon to be Lotus owner. I am currently a "Viper" guy, having owned 3 generations of them over the better part of the last decade. I enjoy cars that give me a visceral, connected, and largely analog experience. At the same time, I'm an engineer working in a R&D background so I'm a huge nerd and absolutely love tech. Probably explains the dichotomy of the current garage pairing.

Not even 5 months ago it had come down to the i8 vs an Evora GT, and we ended up picking the i8 (it was a very very difficult decision as the cars both spoke to us for different reasons). Had I bough the Evora GT, I frankly would have been extremely disappointed with the Emira launch--having felt like I made an ill timed purchase. Emira is taking everything I loved about the Evora GT, turning the dial to 11, and packaging it in an absolutely stunning wrapper inside and out. Knowing Lotus's strategic vision, it seems to be now or never for an ICE car from them. The morning of the 6th as they announced the car I just had that feeling--like this is going to be something special. I have never bought a new sports car--as I've never felt the value was there. Something felt different here, and I picked up the phone. I'm 2nd in line at my local dealer, and hopefully will be getting one of the first allocations.

A German, an American, and a Brit will have to coexist in our garage.

·
Administrator
6,787 Posts
Welcome to LT!

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Nice garage! How long do you have to wait until your Emira gets here?
Anyone's guess is as good as mine. I'd imagine end of Q1 '22 at the earliest--based on prelim info from my dealer.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
There are none.:ROFLMAO:

Honestly for good roads, you have to get into the hill country.