The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Happy To Be Here
2013 Lotus Evora IPS - Carbon Gray
Joined
·
856 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently bought a dash cam and I’d like to mount it fairly permanently near the rear view mirror with 3M adhesive. To make the install look as good as possible, I want to bury the power wire out of sight. I’ve figured out the A-pillar trim can be pulled away fairly easily because it’s only held on with Christmas tree fasteners and the panel below that is a screw and two more trees, but I’m afraid of breaking the headliner. I tried just pushing the USB cable into the small gap between the headliner and the roof, but the headliner didn’t seem to want to move away and let the wire in. Is there any sort of fastening on that leading edge that’s preventing the wire from sliding between the layers? Is the headliner made out of something so stiff that if I force the wire in, the stiff backer might crack or break? I honestly don’t know what holds it up and from where, so if someone else has buried a radar detector or dash cam power wire in the headliner, let me know so I can either uninstall the front edge correctly or stop being such a wimp and force the wire in. Thanks!

Edit: I should mention my car is a 2013 Evora.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,334 Posts
I installed both front and rear dash cams. And, the front one feeds the power to rear. So, I ran the wires/cables up the A-pillars and across the headliner. I was able tuck both cables under the trim and headliner (with a plastic trim tool) without removing any interior trim pieces.

I used the plastic trim tool to gently pull the trim away from the window, just enough so I could tuck the cables. I used the tool about an inch or two in front of the cable as I worked the cable under. And, I slowly worked my way around the car. They have held in place, out of sight and firmly since the install with no issues. So, it should be doable....
 

Attachments

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
391 Posts
Are you using a trim tool? It makes the job much easier. I hardwired my radar detector and had no problem running under headliner. Once though on my Toyota FJ I cracked the windshield trying to get cable under a-pillar

 

·
Happy To Be Here
2013 Lotus Evora IPS - Carbon Gray
Joined
·
856 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I was not using a trim tool. I was going off just how easy it would have been on my past cars like my Eclipse or my Cougar. Those were easy to pry away with my fingers.

The Evora just seems so tight that I thought maybe they used some Velcro on the leading edge to get that fit so tight. I’ll give it another try, this time using some trim tools.

Thank you both for responding!
@2011 chrome orange That’s awesome you hit 2000 posts! You should celebrate when you hit 2011, you know, because of the model year and your username. I suggest a photo shoot tribute of your car, maybe a Then and Now type of post!
 

·
Happy To Be Here
2013 Lotus Evora IPS - Carbon Gray
Joined
·
856 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Let me know what fuse you tapped for the camera.
Personally, I cheated. I just swapped my head unit to the Pioneer AVIC-W8400NEX and it had two usb plugs in the back and even came with a usb extension cord in the box. When I installed the stereo, I routed the extension cord into the passenger footwell and I’m now looking to install my camera. The head unit usb plugs switch on and off with the ignition so they don’t drain the battery. I figure if the usb can charge a phone, it can power my camera. One of the others might have tapped a fuse for the install, as I’d have the same question had I not swapped the HU.
 

·
Happy To Be Here
2013 Lotus Evora IPS - Carbon Gray
Joined
·
856 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I did it, finally. Got the dash cam positioned, adhered, cable run and buried. I used one of the blunt ended trim tools to force the wire in the gap. It really did take a bit of force to get that wire in! I did that because prying with one of the tools that looks like a crow bar wasn’t working for me and putting more pressure on the windshield than I’d have preferred. But it’s installed, the wire is buried and you can’t tell anything was done from the interior of the car. I also still have use of both of my 12V adaptors for phones and GPS units. I positioned it where I used to have my I-Pass because it’s covered by the rear view, so I’ll have to add the I-Pass on the driver’s side of the mirror. I like how it all turned out and so does my car show co-pilot, Foxy. Not a bad stealthy look for only a $100 little camera.
 

Attachments

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
698 Posts
I know this is an old thread but here we are. Just bought a dash cam put it right next to my rear view mirror. Wedged the cable (both power cable and cable going to rear camera) up under the headliner along the top of the windshield, down the A pillar and yada yada yada. Fired her up and now my Sirius XM cuts in and out...which if I remember correct, happened on my previous Evora. I know it’s interfering with the SatNav antenna. Anyone have this happen and if so where did you route the cables? I’m thinking about moving it down the center of the windshield and routing cables at the bottom (where the leather dash is coming apart :rolleyes:). Thoughts?!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,445 Posts
The antennas for the headunit are along the passenger side A-pillar. I ran into interference issues as well (just w/ FM) and had to move the dashcam wire to the inside of the A-pillar, and down into the corner where it meets the windshield.
 

·
Happy To Be Here
2013 Lotus Evora IPS - Carbon Gray
Joined
·
856 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Well now I’m curious. I listen to the radio so infrequently that I don’t know if my car now has an interference issue with an antenna in that A pillar. I believe I pulled the wire tight-ish between the inside corner of the top right of the windshield (when viewed from the inside) to the lower right hand side of the A pillar panel, so my wire is probably diagonal under there. I only ever tried using my head unit for Apple CarPlay and CDs.

I’ll have tofind a local station with my BMW (since I’m new to my area) and then see if I, too, have an interference issue. I have no idea where the FM wire is buried. And I wonder if they ever moved the location. Mine is a MY13, so there’s a chance that they might have played with different spots if they knew this pillar was easy to interfere with. Probably didn’t move it though haha. I’ll check my setup and report back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
I installed both front and rear dash cams. And, the front one feeds the power to rear. So, I ran the wires/cables up the A-pillars and across the headliner. I was able tuck both cables under the trim and headliner (with a plastic trim tool) without removing any interior trim pieces.

I used the plastic trim tool to gently pull the trim away from the window, just enough so I could tuck the cables. I used the tool about an inch or two in front of the cable as I worked the cable under. And, I slowly worked my way around the car. They have held in place, out of sight and firmly since the install with no issues. So, it should be doable....
+One here. used the same approach without issue
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
698 Posts
Well now I’m curious. I listen to the radio so infrequently that I don’t know if my car now has an interference issue with an antenna in that A pillar. I believe I pulled the wire tight-ish between the inside corner of the top right of the windshield (when viewed from the inside) to the lower right hand side of the A pillar panel, so my wire is probably diagonal under there. I only ever tried using my head unit for Apple CarPlay and CDs.

I’ll have tofind a local station with my BMW (since I’m new to my area) and then see if I, too, have an interference issue. I have no idea where the FM wire is buried. And I wonder if they ever moved the location. Mine is a MY13, so there’s a chance that they might have played with different spots if they knew this pillar was easy to interfere with. Probably didn’t move it though haha. I’ll check my setup and report back.
Any insight on interference? I’m just going to try to move it down the A pillar and across the bottom and mount in the middle of the dash but low. As soon as I turn off the camera, the interference goes away.
 

·
Happy To Be Here
2013 Lotus Evora IPS - Carbon Gray
Joined
·
856 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
I tried a bunch of radio stations here tonight and it didn’t sound bad. I mean, a lot of the stations around me are analog stations, but none were flickering or really had any interference that I could tell. My dash cam was on the whole time since it’s powered by the radio. One thing I could try is to unplug the dash cam and try the radio again and see if stations get any better from that alone. I just didn’t think of trying that when I tested it today.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,334 Posts
.......My dash cam was on the whole time since it’s powered by the radio.
I had no issue when I ran mine. If I remember right, I ran power up passenger side A- pillar and cable to rear camera around driver's side headliner.

When you say your dash cam is powered by the radio do you mean same circuit? I powered mine off the front 12V outlet.
 

·
Happy To Be Here
2013 Lotus Evora IPS - Carbon Gray
Joined
·
856 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
I had no issue when I ran mine. If I remember right, I ran power up passenger side A- pillar and cable to rear camera around driver's side headliner.

When you say your dash cam is powered by the radio do you mean same circuit? I powered mine off the front 12V outlet.
Nope, I actually mean the head unit. The back of the head unit that I have has two USB ports in the back. One is labeled for iPhone and the other for Android. I don’t think these really mean anything, but they’re for if you want the wired Apple CarPlay or Android Auto experience. Since I don’t use an Android and the radio came with a USB extension cord in the box, I plugged the extension cord into the Android USB and fed it into the passenger footwell. This cable is also how I have to load updates to the software on the head unit. But when I installed the dash cam shortly after swapping to my current head unit, I figured if that extension cord can power a phone, it can power a dash cam, so now it does. I didn’t have to tap into any fuse and my 12V adaptor is still open for when I want to run a Garmin or anything else. This setup just seemed to make sense to me.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,334 Posts
^ Gotcha. I put a plug adapter/splitter in the front 12V port. It gave me the 12V cigarette type port plus USB port. So, I run my dashcam (5V ) and supplimental OBD gauge (5V USB) on the same 12V port.

I was just wondering if powering off the radio circuit (or actual radio now that you mention it) was causing interference.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
698 Posts
Do you think if I hard wire it, the static may go away? I’ve read that some power supplies (12v cig adapter in this case) is/can be the cause of this.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top