The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,752 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still a relative newbie to track days, running in one of novice,intermediate groups. I have the base suspension with the Ad07's. The event coordinators don't really want anyone to go out side of the OE setup until they get in the advanced run groups. So I was just curious how many here still do their track days on the Ad07's...Jeff.

·
Registered
4,985 Posts
brgm100 said:
I'm still a relative newbie to track days, running in one of novice,intermediate groups. I have the base suspension with the Ad07's. The event coordinators don't really want anyone to go out side of the OE setup until they get in the advanced run groups. So I was just curious how many here still do their track days on the Ad07's...Jeff.
Me.

·
Registered
772 Posts
Me 2

·
Registered
778 Posts
AD07's fro track use

I have done multiple track events on 07's (as well as with 48's and Hoosier's). You will do just fine at track events and will probably no even notice a difference between 07's and 48's until you have done 4 or 5 events and have a feel for the car's balance in corners and start to explore the limits of braking and adhesion. On a shorter circuit, the 48's will only be worth a second or less in lap times, much less than the difference with true race tires. The 07's are much more durable and are a better choice because of this until you are very experienced. In the wet or damp
they are reportedly superior to 48's although I cannot personally speak to this. Much more important than tires is good instuction. Find someone who knows the Elise to act as you instructor when you start out, people who are experienced in track days but not the Elise can get you into serious trouble. Do a search for the Elise
crash at Road America last year....

·
Registered
1,752 Posts
Discussion Starter #5