The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Closer than you think
2,222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought new tires for my 2005 Elise Sport on LSS wheels. Because I liked my old Toyo Proxes 4's, I bought the same tires but switched from 195 to 205 width on the fronts and from 225 to 235 on the rears. (The shims are still in place.)

205/50/16 fronts
235/45/17 rears

I've noticed a difference in steering/suspension feel, but instead of describing it right away, I'd like to see what the "experts" here would predict based on knowledge or experience...

(note: Please no posts yet from Me!... That's not fair...:D)

·
Gamera The Atomic Turtle
3,349 Posts
and those should also fit base wheels as they are the same sizes as the star specs we are running.

·
Banned
3,239 Posts
I’m not an expert but I would like to test my knowledge of suspension dynamics…and I’ll stick my neck out and do it in front of everybody.

But I have a couple questions first;

Has the rolling diameter changed going from the smaller (narrower) to the larger?

And…did you use the same wheel…ie, did you take off the old (smaller tire) and install the wider tire on the same wheels?

·
Registered
1,866 Posts
;1717849 said:
Has the rolling diameter changed going from the smaller (narrower) to the larger?

And…did you use the same wheel…ie, did you take off the old (smaller tire) and install the wider tire on the same wheels?
Answer is yes to both

·
Banned
3,239 Posts
This makes it much more difficult to predict because you have pluses and minuses that are next to impossible to predict which will have the greater influence…to add up to an improvement or a negative…this is what I think will happen;

1. Larger diameter – slightly slower acceleration and slightly more brake pedal required to slow down / stop the car.
2. Heavier wheel/tire – will make the car handle more sluggish, not as crisp.