The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all! I'm a Lotus newbie/wannabee in North Vancouver, B.C.

I owned and drove a good dozen or more LBCs in my early youth through the '60s & '70s when they were plentiful, reasonable to own & easy to keep back in the day.

I rejoined the mayhem 8 years ago with a well restored & Collector plated '74 MGB in BRG that I've enjoyed very much during it's stay with me. I sold "OMG" a few weeks ago since I'm ready for a change. The new custodian agreed to stay in touch and take me for a drive once a year, nice fellow he is too, which made for a comfortable sale.

After a good deal of DD and viewing/driving half a dozen "select & mostly originale" olde LBCs, I ran across a local advert for a "1991 Lotus Elan M100 with 74Kms, 5 speed, normal 165hp now 200 hp courtesy of the V5 chip." which has tweaked my interest as I have always been a fanboy of the marque, but haven't shared the experience as yet.

So here I am boys and girls, trying my best to soak up some initial insight into quite another level of mayhem and awaiting a reply from the seller.

I will ask the seller if he is a member of Lotus Talks or Lotus Elan Central once we connect.

So far I have picked up a few tips from other's posts such as carefully reviewing documented service records and a number of high-point refit/maintenance necessities and I'm open to any collective wisdom any member would care to share. Appears to be a fairly steep & potentially spendy learning curve involved in such a refined vehicle, however the best place to start is here at the beginning.

Needless to say, but I will.... local input is very much welcomed.

Cheers & try your best to stay safe out there while still having a bit o' fun, eh.

·
Wingless Wonder
1988 Esprit Turbo
5,863 Posts
M100s are GREAT top-down fun! Welcome. "Best-Handling front wheel drive car ever made"