The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm stuck between buying an elise or a porsche 964. I know most of you will say the porsche is big and fat but I love them. My questions about the elise are:

1. How easy is it to get more power? I know it's light, but 189 hp is lack luster. I'm not saying I need 400+hp but 240-260 would be really nice. How expensive would it be to get it to this power range? Would it be reliable? Would it still get decent mileage?

2. While driving on the highway, is there good pick up when you want to pass another car?

3. How is maintenance? I know it's a toyota engine, so logic would say it's relatively cheap engine wise. Is that sound? I feel like I've heard other parts of the car aren't cheap to replace?

4. Are there any HUGE gremlins with elises? I'm pretty new to them in all honesty.

I really appreciate all the help I can get. I would search but I'm on quite a bit of a time crunch and just looking to get some quick answers. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
3,426 Posts
There are plenty of options to get 250+ hp. Even more if you do a built engine and upgrade the trans.

as to the other questions - search the Elise board - lots of info there to skim.

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
Easy enough to do basic maintenance yourself, but if everything is done by a dealer, it becomes quite costly

·
Carbon Fiber
1,637 Posts
Oil coolers will fail,

Get a Vision function supercharger kit, put it on in your garage, call it a day.

·
Gamera The Atomic Turtle
3,349 Posts
if your life is in a time crunch, buy the P car. And open your wallet. I say that because the last thing you want to do is buy an Elise, and not have the time to drive and enjoy it. That would be a crime. With the P car, not so much.
BTW, my car is 335hp, and there is nothing like it. Figure 5k-15k to make your stock Elise "fast".

·
Registered
1,992 Posts