The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

Just installed a Larini Sport type last week (love the sound). I have a question regarding the pops and gargles... are these normal? they happen when i downshift or take my foot off the pedal (im new at this.. so please bare with me). FYI, i left the stock CAT in place.

I guess what i would like to know is what causes this "effect" and is it bad for the engine or pistons or anything for that matter?

thanks much for the input!

Raven

·
German Reimport
2,953 Posts
Mine does that too, and I love the sound of it! :coolnana:
I guess it's caused by small amounts of unburned fuel that ignite in the exhaust :confused:
I also assume that this is independent from the type of exhaust you run.
On some exhausts it's just more pronounced than on others.
It would be interesting to hear if this has any negative effects on the CAT since TADTS
I once fried a CAT on my Miata after a spark plug went south on me. It only took two miles of driving on three cylinders brefore the CAT burned up...

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
can there be any negative effect on the car? engine? why does this happen compared to the stock exhaust? is it because the can is smaller?

just trying to understand the dynamics

thanks

·
Registered
912 Posts
It happens with the stock exhaust you just dont hear it happening. Now go through a tunnel full throttle and get it to pop. Gave me chills up my spine when i first did it.

·
Registered
471 Posts
Mine pops and burbles like crazy. I love it. I've had the Larini on the car for almost 2 years and no problems with the engine or the cat.

Steve

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
Don't quote me on this, but I believe I read on this forum that the popping is the result of unburned fuel.