The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone point in the right direction? Im in New Jersey if it makes a difference. I have a UK driving license.

I really need to get myself a car asap, its drivnig me mad not having one. For the time being im thinking of getting an Eclipse Spyder - but depends on how they will hit me with insurance.

Hope someone can help.

·
Registered
3,577 Posts
I'm no expert, but expect higher rates in New Jersey. I believe that they have some of the highest insurance rates in the country.

·
Registered
6,802 Posts
Mark,
I just don't know what the implications are to get insurance for a non-resident here in the US with a Non US drivers license.

Some insurance companies to look at would be Progressive, State Farm, GEICO,

Chris

·
Registered
8,270 Posts
Get a US drivers license. I'm surmising that you're here in the colonies long enough that you're considering a car. I doubt it'll make a diff on your insurance rate, but the agent might give you grief for the UK License.

·
Registered
1,579 Posts
The insurance will probably require a US drivers license. When I moved here, I talked them into giving me a couple of weeks to take the exam.

About insurance rates: If you go directly to one of the big insurances, you'll probably get screwed on the rate. They enter your data into the computer, and it calculates the price. If you just got a US drivers license, they will enter 0 for your driving experience, and you won't like the results of that, especially combined with driving a sports car... They won't take into account driving experience in another country.

I initially went through an independent agent, and he found one insurance that allowed him to make a judgement call on my risk. That was the only way to get a reasonable rate.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Can you give me an example of an Independant Agent? Im used to the terminology in the UK. Is this like a broker?