The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

This is currently the only picture I have due to it being so dark outside.. So basically as you can see.. It kind've split into two. Theres a major crack along side of it aswell.

It's all fiberglass so I hope it's easily repairable through some shop.. [I've never messed with fiberglass so I have no knowledge what so ever]

STORY TIME:
In the GREAT City of New Orleans.. We have construction EVERYWHERE! And alot of One Ways. I was stuck on this one way, which had one lane, and one hole. [About 5-6" Deep], on the right of that hole was a border, and on the left of the lane was a curb.

Which meant.. I had to either go through it, or halt my car and block the many cars behind me.. Which I was stupid, and drove slowly into it, heard and felt every single... ugh don't make me relive this!! :(

ANYWAY IS IT SALVAGEABLE?! Or should I just order another one

·
Premium Member
4,101 Posts
Its a splitter, in the Lotus world its sacrificial like Hoosiers etc......

Sure you can fix it, find the right fiberglass person. You will most likely need new star guard on it but find the right shop and it will be okay. That's minor stuff.

Or its an excuse to purchase that new CF one you had your eye on!

·
German Reimport
2,953 Posts
I had my CF-splitter on my car for maybe two weeks before I had my first oh-sh§$ moment. Not nearly as bad as yours. Just the lower edge was scraped slighty in one spot.

After that I ordered some edge protection like this:

kantenschutz-kunststoffprofil-mit-metalleinlage_z1.jpg

Fits like a glove and should work as a sacrificial device on first contact.
It is not going to help at higher speed impacts, but it should give me some protection at low speeds (enough time to stop before more damage happens) at driveways and such.

·
Tire abuser
773 Posts