The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

just noticed the little horn symbols on the leather-covered portion of the spokes.

is that where you press to honk the horn?

·
shay2nak
24,993 Posts
originally posted by Adam P
Its in the center where the lotus symbol is..
Then howcome they don't put the horn symbol above or below or off to the side of the Lotus logo? I tried to use the horn at the LAAS, but all the batteries were removed from the cars.

·
Registered
178 Posts
air bag

I have no absolute knowledge regarding the horn 'button' placement, but with the airbad in the center of the wheel, it would seem unlikely that the Lotus emblem would be the horn button and the horn symbols are usually where you press on other cars. I have no doubt that Euro cars have a horn button in the center and I know some of the early "U.S." cars were really Euro models with some parts converted to look like a federalized version.

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Re: air bag

Less Moore said:
I have no absolute knowledge regarding the horn 'button' placement, but with the airbag in the center of the wheel, it would seem unlikely that the Lotus emblem would be the horn button
:confused:

virtually all US cars have the horn button in the center of the wheel, in the same location as the airbag

·
shay2nak
24,993 Posts
originally posted by atyclb
virtually all US cars have the horn button in the center of the wheel, in the same location as the airbag
my civic's horn buttons are near the spokes away from the airbag, but they are still on the airbag cover. However, there was a time when my horns wouldn't work and that was because my airbag was found to have an error.

my benz has them off-center near the spokes but it is still on the airbag cover.

found this pic on eBay of the 97 civic

Attachments

·
Registered
394 Posts