The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bit of a problem. Basically I've been running the sport SE exhaust for 6 months with a decat pipe. The whole thing was fitted by Larini themselves and was perfect in terms of fit etc. Now the weathers improving over here in the UK (ie. it's virtually July so we might see a bit of sun!) I'm wanting to get on track so replaced the decat pipe.

Now, the exhaust "ticks". It's the only way to describe it. It's like a mechanical ticking noise that is in time with the engine revs. It only makes the noise under load, you can rev in neutral and not hear it.

I've just spent the day taking the whole thing off and refitting. Still no better :(

Anyone got any suggestions?

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
Bit of a problem. Basically I've been running the sport SE exhaust for 6 months with a decat pipe. The whole thing was fitted by Larini themselves and was perfect in terms of fit etc. Now the weathers improving over here in the UK (ie. it's virtually July so we might see a bit of sun!) I'm wanting to get on track so replaced the decat pipe.

Now, the exhaust "ticks". It's the only way to describe it. It's like a mechanical ticking noise that is in time with the engine revs. It only makes the noise under load, you can rev in neutral and not hear it.

I've just spent the day taking the whole thing off and refitting. Still no better :(

Anyone got any suggestions?
Are you sure it's the exhaust???

This is the sound of my engine after the camshaft went. Ticking increased with engine revs.

<embed width="448" height="361" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" src="http://i46.photobucket.com/player.swf?file=http://vid46.photobucket.com/albums/f143/burtfeathergrl/Video003.flv">

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4