The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
495 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My partner has a Superformance AC Cobra, and invited me to bring my car to Virginia International Raceway Memorial day weekend for a track event. It was interesting running my little 4 cylinder roller skate against a field of fire breathing big block 8 cylinders, Porsches, Vipers, Vettes, a couple Nascar racers, and even a lonesome old Lotus 7.

The GT 40s are the sexiest cars on the road IMHO when you see them in person. The red Cobra Coupe was the fastest car in the track, hitting 170 on a moderate straight.

That my pard in the blue number 46. He was the fastest non coupe Cobra in the field of over 40. There were 77 cars altogether.

My supercharged Elise held it's own reasonably well considering the difference in horsepower. I'm a rookie, and the first day I was in the D run group with the other beginners. I was passing a lot of cars, so I moved to the B group and, rightfully so, got my ass handed to me on the first run. But I rode with two different instructors who were very helpful, and by the end of the day I was staying in the middle of the pack, passing a few and being passed by a few. I'll take that considering the company I was in.

xeeeejme and his lovely girlfriend joined us at the event on the first day in his Chrome Orange Exige, and I think he had a good time as well.

I should mention at this point how very valuable the Lotus Performance Driving School I attended last year was with shrinking the learning curve on my first real track event. I felt comfortable on the track almost right away, and the training was spot on and invaluable to a beginner. Also, the weekend before the event I had my dealer do the heel toe adjustment to the pedals, which is described in the Lotus Service Manual. It made a HUGE difference and I was heel-toeing like a champ by the end of the meet.