The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the lotus scene. Got my first one (84 US turbo esprit) back in the fall. I have always wanted one, and now i have one :clap:

I love the car, pulls hard, handles great, and gets the looks. I even like how it smells. I haven't seen a lot of other lotus in new england either.

as with any 30 year old car it has some issues, and I'm not super familiar to the car so i have some esprit specific questions (and im sure i will have some more)

1) is there a diagram / map somewhere that will tell me which fuse is what? I have the service notes but not the owners manual, and the fuse cover door doesn't have anything on it.

2) there is a fairly large flat plug under the arm rest in the center console, what is that for?

3) what is normal operating temp for the 910? Mine runs circa 70c which i believe is probably too cold. Thermostat sticking open?

4) if I sit in traffic or let it idle the temp will creep up, my understanding is that the fans should kick on at 80 degrees c, and they do not.

5) blinkers and 4 ways were working great. Then one day last week while I was home for lunch they just stopped functioning entirely. Hoping that's just a fuse if i can find it.

6) when i'm testing wires trying to find its electrical bugs, what do i use as a ground on a fiberglass car? I realize there is a backbone, but its not always accessible with my multi meter probe.

7) i don't seem to get any heat. I think i understand how the flaps work, but where is the water/heater valve located? Is it easy to get to and verify position that its opening when i ask it to.

8) windsheild wipers twitch, but don't wipe.