The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
956 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. As my search for a used Elise continues I had a concern. One of the design features I admire most about the Elise/Exige is the bonded and riveted chassis. As a mechanical engineer I appreciate innovative methods of construction, but as I plan on keeping my Elise until I die (hopefully a very long time from now) I can't help but wonder how long that bonding agent will last.

Will we all be re-bonding our cars in 20 years? Will there be a business for chassis jigs and glue? I see old Lotus' with wood components which rot and that would be minor in comparison. I know the bonding agent is an epoxy with hard rubber-like qualities and obviously it has held up for 15 years on the S1's so it's possible it will outlast our generation, but I can't imagine it will last forever.

I tried searching for this topic, but search is broken on my Android device (search box disappears) so hopefully I'm not beating a dead horse here.

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts
The technique of bonding and rivets came from the aviation industry, where the consequences of bonding failure is extreme. The technique already had a substantial track record before it was incorporated into Lotus cars. Bonding and riveting on my 05 chassis will probably still be in good shape for my grandchildren to enjoy.

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts
....or a red panda will ruthlessly trash the interior.

·
Premium Member
5,633 Posts
Hello all. As my search for a used Elise continues I had a concern. One of the design features I admire most about the Elise/Exige is the bonded and riveted chassis. As a mechanical engineer I appreciate innovative methods of construction, but as I plan on keeping my Elise until I die (hopefully a very long time from now) I can't help but wonder how long that bonding agent will last.