The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
History: Purchased car used on Thursday and it was a trade in and never smogged. I drove the car one night and took it back, per our agreement, so that they (Chevy dealer) could smog it. The tech couldnt get the smog computer to talk to the car, so it went to Lotus San Diego. Lotus as the same issue and contacted corporate for input, claiming they have never seen this before and the issue was "not communicating with CAN network".

Any thoughts? I'm new to Lotus, I've only drive one for a few hours:)

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
Hey,

I don't have direct experience with this issue, but just FYI, it's california law that the seller be responsible for smog. So if they can't and they try to put it on you, push back... HARD.

Side-note, maybe the car had the ecu swapped? What year is the car and what color are your dials on your dash?

-JM

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yah, I'm not worried about the bill, I bought from a big dealer and they have me in a loaner car and all, the dealer will eat whatever lotus charges to get this smogged, I'm more interested in why this happens or if its a clue to something worse down the road.

Its a 2005 and the gauge are white background.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
It sounds like the ECU has a tune on it. Have Lotus flash the ECU with the latest firmware and then the smog computer should be able to see it. 2005s have an update that I got and it made the car run very nicely!

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts
Post a picture of the ECU. It will be on the driver's side of the firewall in the engine bay.

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
If it has a tune, it may be for a reason. There are only a handful of "tuners" out there, and I'm thinking that they may take the VIN when they do the tune, so you may want to reach out to sector, BOE, and Charlie-X and see if they have your VIN listed.

·
Registered
195 Posts