The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Sounds good. Following Lotus's previous platforms it may last 10 years or longer. Adaptable to hybrid or full electric propulsion if regulations ban new car combustion sales (Sweden, California, etc).

I'm new to Lotus and have been thoroughly enjoying the Evora's design and handling characteristics. A BMW 2000-esque car that is extremely lightweight would be delightful. Lotus Carlton type vehicle.

·
Premium Member
11,852 Posts
why do we need two threads on same topic?

·
craigyirush
1,536 Posts
With current battery tech there’s no way (afaik) to make a truly light EV. So I’m glad we’re getting one last ICE Lotus sports car with a manual transmission (I assume). Let’s hope it’s as exciting an engine as the 2zz, though I’m skeptical it will be.

Reactions: glemmons and Kubera

·
Registered
118 Posts
I would like to see more hybrids instead of just a jump to EV. There is nothing stopping the creation of a hybrid manual. Its a slightly strange combination but Lotus is the king of slightly strange.

300HP in EV mode with the option to add 250HP from a small ICE in race mode could make for a really cool hybrid.

They are working on nailing down hybrid batteries that are part micro-carbon structure allowing both an increase in peak power and less weight.

There is no chance in hell I would ever buy an EV Lotus. There is a reason I bought a Lotus. If I wanted to also have an EV I would have also bought a Tesla.

·
Formerly EliseIn2005
251 Posts
I would like to see more hybrids instead of just a jump to EV. There is nothing stopping the creation of a hybrid manual. Its a slightly strange combination but Lotus is the king of slightly strange.

300HP in EV mode with the option to add 250HP from a small ICE in race mode could make for a really cool hybrid.

They are working on nailing down hybrid batteries that are part micro-carbon structure allowing both an increase in peak power and less weight.