The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a software engineer and web developer and I've been looking for a fun side project to work on. Although I don't own a Lotus yet, I thought it would be cool to develop a good web-based registry site for owners of Lotus cars that could be used to document the car(s) owned by each user, including options, after-market upgrades, etc. One capability that might also be nice would be the automatic import of photos of the cars from photo sites like Flickr or Photobucket, whatever is more popular with the Lotus community. Pretty much any information/pictures relating to one's car could be found in one place, and all of the data would be indexed so that it could be easily found by the site's built-in search engine. I've got some other ideas for useful features, but before I go too far with this I wanted to poll the community here and ask

1) Would you find something like this useful? I know there is already some form of registry online for Lotus cars, but it doesn't seem all that useful.

2) If the answer to 1) is 'yes', then what other features do you think would make the site useful? I think Lotus discussion is already very well handled by LotusTalk so I wouldn't want to duplicate any of that functionality.

Feel free to PM me and let me know what you think of the idea. If you think it's useless, then I want to hear that too :p

·
www.theapexinn.com
11,687 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Right, I saw the map and think it's pretty cool. But what I was thinking of was quite different than that. Something that contained pictures of each registered car, supported a way to contact the owner to ask questions about the car, allowed registered users to post comments about a car, was fully text-searchable, maybe even allowed a registered car to be marked 'for sale' so that cars could be bought/sold, etc.

·
Registered
6,538 Posts