The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My battery just died again. I have the BOE clam hinge so it had been relocated. I hate the current location. Every time I have to change the battery I have to lift tilt the clam. And tilting the clam is not very convenient in an Exige with an OEM intercooler.

You can’t even see the battery in this pic because it is buried under the intercooler hose and charcoal canister. I want to relocate the battery to a more convenient location. I can’t move it to stock location because I have a clam hinge. Do you guys have any suggestions? What about moving inside the cabin? Is that a good idea. I’m not an electrical engineer so please advise.

·
Premium Member
11,703 Posts
My battery is in situ and I have the BOE clam hinge.

I use the stock, not BOE rear panel which complicates things a tiny bit.

Best check with BOE yourself.

·
Premium Member
1,349 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My battery is in situ and I have the BOE clam hinge.

I use the stock, not BOE rear panel which complicates things a tiny bit.

Best check with BOE yourself.
I assume you had to extend your battery cables to tilt the clam properly?

·
Premium Member
11,703 Posts
Nope.

·
Registered
342 Posts
FWIW.....I have a clam hinge on my Exige, with the battery in the stock location, and have extended battery cables. I have the Radium fuel surge tank in the charcoal canister location, so the battery had to stay in the stock location. I actually prefer it in the stock location.

·
Premium Member
11,703 Posts
Geez, now I can't remember if I had to disconnect the battery. I'll try to take a look.

Yes, less heat means a better location, but the battery weight is further to the rear of car.

·
Registered
3,975 Posts