The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings!

I'm a new Lotus driver, haven't had it very long. I've so far just been driving around town, waiting to get out on some real open road.

Next weekend I am planing a 8 hour roadtrip up the California coast (and 8 back). I'm wondering about anything I might need, but not think about with a normal car. I have read comments that earplugs are a must for long drives (I never would have thought of this). Are there any other little tips for a Lotus newb?

·
Registered
765 Posts
Last year I took the same trip, 8 hours up PCH from LA to Guerneville, then back a few days later. Didn't need anything special beyond some good road tunes. Enjoy!

·
Registered
3,927 Posts
Off hand the only thing I can think of is a small air-compressor and tire plugs. In a good 7 years, never had a flat with the Elise but w/o a spare it’s good peace of mind. Enjoy, this trip will be as much about the journey as the destination.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks a lot for the comments. I really didn't think about how bad a flat would be! I'll pick up said items, and I can't wait for the drive:).

·
Such Administrating
6,854 Posts
Depending on your age, maybe a small airline pillow for your back.
I've tried to find a decent one, but all the ones i've found are a too big and make me sit too far forward. I need to find a good really small one.

A hat if you'll have the top off.

Glen
Good thought, don't want a sunburnt head!

Off hand the only thing I can think of is a small air-compressor and tire plugs. In a good 7 years, never had a flat with the Elise but w/o a spare it’s good peace of mind. Enjoy, this trip will be as much about the journey as the destination.
This is actually a good idea. I think I'm gonna but a really small compressor and figure out a way to mount it in the back with a tire plug kit attached to it.