The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at my next set of tires for the street. The 2005 Elise I purchased recently came with older AD07s that def need to be replaced. I live in Portland, Oregon. While I won't drive the Elise by choice in truly wet conditions, I've often driven in damp ones. Peace of mind and safety in damp/mixed conditions on the street is the main criteria for this replacement set.

I'm a novice level driver, looking to take HPDE classes when things dry out this spring. The vast majority of the time for these tire will be street conditions.

At this point, I'm only considering stock sizes: 195/50/16F and 225/45/17R mounted to my stock wheels.

The Conti ExtremeContact DW seems a good choice, but it appears that it is no longer available in my size. However, the Sport (perhaps seen as the replacement for the DW?) comes in my size:

ExtremeContact sport, front
ExtremeContact sport, rear

My reading seems to suggest this the right blend of wet performance while still doing well in the dry, but are there better options I should consider?

·
Registered
30 Posts
I've recently purchased an Exige with older / worn tires, so I'm in a similar situation. My car is in Cleveland, OH, but I spend much of my time traveling for work - I'll be driving the Exige when I'm home rain or shine. While I'm new to Lotus, I've done some tarmac rally and road racing in similarly light-weight Miata's. For the rallies, I started with Toyo R1Rs (200 treadwear) before moving to Toyo R888s (100 treadware), and used them in everything from warm / dry to cold / wet conditions with good success. I think the 340 treadwear Contis would be better suited for a much heavier car.

Cheers,
Bryan

·
Registered
144 Posts
I have the Conti Extreme Contact Sport on my 06 Elise in Sport Package sizes. The car came with Yokohama A048s with about 1,000 miles on them.