The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys
Im new to the Lotus Elise, but I'd like to buy a damaged Elise to repair, since it would come out a little cheaper.
Thing is I found this one , but since I've only seen some pictures of it and the germans usually dont really like to describe what wrong with, I;d like you guys to take look at it.

Fahrzeuge | Auto-Salon-Spandau-Unfallwagen

To me it looks like it needs a new front clamshell and wheelarches, and a new crashbox and anything in it ( I believe there a radiator and fan in it?)
I think it was in a frontal accident and the crashbox did what its supposed to do, without damaging anything else.
The chassis looks goods to me, although I havent seen and closeups of the suspension area, but do you have any idea if there could be a lot more wrong with this car than you can see?
THanks guys

·
Registered
856 Posts
OK... I'll help too...

It will NOT cost you less than buying an already fixed used one.

Not sure what you are going to get it for (in American $) but you will need to replace both front and rear clams (at $3000 USD each) plus prep/paint/install. the crash box is big $ and requires breaking the old one off and gluing the new one precisely in the right place.

You will need both light lenses and light assemblys (the lenses alone are about $600 USD each).

Radiator surround (approx $500 USD) Radiator. oil cooler/s.

Look, lets say you get this parts car for $10K, you need to put over $10K into it to make it road worthy. Spend $20,000+ on a clean car and be happy you didn't waste your time and money on this one.

Sounds like you are on the other side of the pond. There are TONS of Lotus Elises earlier than '05 (like this one). I am sure you can get one for less than you can rebuild this one for.

Good luck.

Dave

·
www.theapexinn.com
11,688 Posts
I'll get in line
:popcorn::popcorn:

·
insert clever title here
7,702 Posts