The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I am looking to install a supercharger on my 2005 Elise with 32k miles on it. I have spent countless hours tweeking Porsche and BMW with turbochargers / methanol sytems, but i am new to Lotus. I thought it would be smart to seek the wise counsel of veteran Lotus owners. I have found less potent non intercooled superchargers and then some more aggressive superchargers needing intercooling. I am planning to also place a methanol system behind it. Any advice on aftermarket supercharger brands and models would be much appreciated. Thank you for your direction.

·
Registered
2,360 Posts
well there is a whole subforum dedicated to forced induction.

The main kits are: revolution by BOE, Katana by sector 111, and VF2 by vision function

There are reams of data about these in the forced induction forum

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts
Quick, off the cuff, answers (I am on my lunch break). If you want to only upgrade your engine, try to select one of the kits below 270hp. More HP usually means upgrading the clutch and facing a shorter life expectancy on your transmission (especially if you track).
Over 320ish hp usually means upgrading engine internals (unless you get a 400hp kit and have it "de-tuned" to a lower HP figure "A LA Komiko"). Over 220 HP usually means fuel pump upgrades too.
Katana2 alone, about 218 HP
Katana2 with headers, decat, intake upgrades, about 265 HP
Vision function kits, about 270 and up HP.
TVS supercharger (non intercooled), about 300 HP
Katana2 (intercooled), about 310 hp
TVS supercharger (intercooled with headers, decat, intake upgrades) up to 400 HP
Same item immediately above with DRS E85 conversion, about 450 HP
All of these figures are CRANK HP, allow for about 12 percent loss for Wheel HP.
There will be some people who get less, others who get more HP out of these kits.