The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
Just got my mid-life crisis ( & boyhood dream) really rocking - un unloved '85 Turbo esprit.
Needs loads of things doing to it, but it is road legal so I'm driving it when it doesn't rain as the wiper is "Intermittent" :) . I'm no mechanic - but I'll have a go at as much as I possibly can - so will almost certainly be plaguing experienced minds to assist/enjoy along the way.

·
Wingless Wonder
1988 Esprit Turbo
6,240 Posts
Pics! We need PICS! :giggle:

Apply Rain-Ex to the window (or use a car wash with wax in it)...that rain will just FLOW off!

·
Registered
90 Posts
Welcome. Let’s see it!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Here's some images ...... an loved car for sure ...

Lots to get on with, of course, firat starter project is the dashboard illumination - upgrade to LED lighting when I've sourced all the correct bulbs :)

20200814_121218.jpeg
20200814_121218.jpeg
20200814_121218.jpeg
20200814_115133_resized.jpg
20200814_121218.jpeg
20200814_115133_resized.jpg
20200814_115140_resized.jpg
20200814_115204_resized.jpg
IMG-0011.jpg
IMG-0013.jpg

·
Premium Member
1987 Lotus Turbo Esprit HCI - Pearl white w/ Blue interior - No mods
28 Posts
Great project! Looking forward to seeing your progress. "Boyhood dream" is the same reason I bought my G-body.

·
Registered
‘83 Turbo Esprit
38 Posts
Great car! I have an '83 Turbo Esprit and love it. Would love to hear how you get on with the LED dashboard illumination - that is on my list of things to do!

·
Registered
2017 Evora 400
643 Posts
I redid the seats on my 89 with just some scissors and my grandmother's hand crank Singer sewing machine, basically. Got a full hide of leather which was JUST enough for the 2 seats. I even had to use the brand. Just takes time and attention to detail.

Good luck with your project.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·