The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
321 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone here had lower back surgery in the past(still with pain) and drive their Elise/Exige? I ask because I just had my 6th surgery , last one being a fusion. I still have lot's of pain. I have been building and racing cars for 14 years now and had to give it all up because of being in and out of the hospital for the last 2.5 years. I just sold my drag car because I really can't work on it much as well as drive it. I wont give up cars though and have been looking to replace the race car with a Lotus or possibly a s2000. I know everyone will say it's an obvious choice having a sever lower back problem but I really would rather the Lotus. I love what I have seen so far with the car itself and the tight knit community I have found here. I went to the Local lotus dealer here in Ct and wanted to first see if I could even get into one as I walk with a cane. I managed to do it and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be.
This car will not be a daily driver year round as I have a Mazdaspeed 6 for that, I would like to drive it as much as possible on nice days though.
I have never gotten to ride in an Elise so I'm really not sure how much it's going to hurt me. The Exige seats seem to feel slightly better to me compared to the Elise I sat in and I would even possibly consider having one re covered so I could add some lumbar support to one.(or tuck a small pillow lol)
So I'm wondering if anyone here has back issues and how much it affects them when driving their Lotus?(I have yet to even ride in one)

My 2nd question is, for those of you who only drive in the summer in the north east, who do you use for car insurance? I got quoted an extra 1300 per 6 months to add the Lotus to my policy:crazyeyes

All that aside , My name is Tom and I'm from Ct.