The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted this in the Esprit forum since I'm primarilly interested in a 2002 V8 Esprit.
Posting here also to get additional feedback.
Mod's sorry if cross-posting is a no-no, feel free to delete if required.

http://www.lotustalk.com/forums/f164/new-guy-1st-post-questions-120482/

Please let me take a bit of your time for introductions.
I’m a 50+ year old guy that amongst other things has a passion for cars, or more accurately for beautiful, functional machines. IMO the MY 2002 – 2004 V8 Esprits certainly qualify in spades.

Recent circumstances present me with an opportunity to buy a 2002 from a local who is the original owner and seems to have “cherished” AND regularly driven his car.

Of course I have a bunch of questions before making the leap.

For reference I currently drive / AX / participate in DE’s with my very sweet 1996 Porsche 4S (993).
I’m a competent driver, but not a racer. I’m an instructor with the local club for both AX and DE, but to tell you the truth I enjoy washing / polishing / staring at a beautiful car as much as I do driving it.

I’m also a very capable wrench and do all my own maintenance up to and including engine drops and clutch assembly R&R.

The 993 is an “occasional driver”, as would be the Esprit. Daily driving is handled via biciclette or Audi Avant. The 993 is a relatively visceral car with great looks, sounds, handling and braking along with adequate acceleration. It is on the flat end of the depreciation curve and may actually be appreciating a bit.

I expect the Esprit would likely have better acceleration, braking and handling and also has great looks. Not too worried about Appreciation / Depreciation but I assume Esprits are not “appreciating”.

Please feel free to comment on some of my fears regarding selling the 993 and buying the Esprit, (don’t have $$$ or space to keep both), include;