The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, everyone!

I just joined Lotus Talk and am hoping for some guidance. I'm sure this is the first of many questions I'll have over the months.

I am in the market for a new Lotus Evora. I just love everything I've read and heard about the car--it sounds like everything I am looking for.

The "problem" is that I am a complete rookie when it comes to sports cars. I love to drive, but my current car is a 2002 Mazda Protégé 5, and the cars I had before that are even less impressive. So, this will be a huge step up.

My question is this: Assuming for purposes of discussion that price is not an issue, do you recommend going for an Evora or an Evora S (in either case, it will be the manual transmission)? I don't intend to take the car to the track, and even though I've heard that the S has more going for it, I'm a little worried that it may be too much car for a newbie like me.

So, any advice you can give would be great.

Thank you!

·
Addict
2007 Lotus Exige S
1,423 Posts
I am not an Evora owner, but from other posts on this site it seems adding bost to an NA Evora is not an option. I have yet to own a car I thought had too much power, you should learn to control the car and if not take some classes.

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts
More novices get in trouble with the whole "mid-engine" snap oversteer issue, and not the too much HP issue. The only person I have ever heard of taking a car back for too much HP is Bill Cosby; he has a great routine he does about the time he bought a new Shelby Cobra Roadster with the 400+ cubic inch V8. He ends up returning the car to the dealer, after driving it 30 seconds (mostly over the curb and onto his neighbor's lawn).

·
Premium Member
617 Posts
If you never drive an S, you won't miss the power. I went from a Mercury Mystique (130hp) to the Evora. I will admit I always wanted a car with a Blower....

·
Registered
10 Posts