The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

So here is the situation- I Have one kid in the house and she is leaving for college. And in stereotypical “mid-life crisis/empty nester,” fashion, I have been looking all over for a car that excites me...and the only one that does is the 2017 Lotus Evora 400. The problem is I live in New Orleans and the nearest certified servicer is over 300 miles away in Houston. So I am looking for some advice on how to make this practical, if possible. Are there some independent service shops near me that I am unaware of? Can engine related problems be taken to a Toyota dealership given the Camry engine? Any and all advice is welcomed as I am new to exotic/super cars.

Thanks

·
Loves to talk
1,108 Posts
I don't think you'll face any engine related issues with a new or newer 400. What you probably will have to deal with is shaking out any of the smaller niggles that are more likely to arise. I haven't had any issues that would have stopped me from delivering my car 300 miles for service (either routine or unexpected) but I don't know if I would have the patience and ability to deliver and pick up my car if the closest warranty service demanded a 600 mile round trip. Routine service would be very manageable since scheduled intervals are quite extended but any "surprises" could be a real PITA.