The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I just moved to the Portland area this past year. I have been motorcycling for the past 7-8 years and have always had the latest/greatest sportbikes out. Just something about the power to weight ratio with these things is addictive. I really don't get crazy, but do like to open them up on occassion. Anyway, I am 34 years old and as much as I hate to say this considering hanging up the sport bike belt. It is just so uncomforatable for much more than 1 hour and I hate having to avoid town and stoplights so the bikes won't overheat. I really can't get to the track much either.

Back on topic. I have long LOVED the looks of the lotus elise and exige, but have never really been a car guy. Well today I went to look at some in person and was able to test drive a 2011 elise and a 2009 Exige 240. I was rather impressed by the acceleration from a small engine. I had a lot more fun than I was anticipating. I got to thinking, I wonder if this would give me the thrill motorcycling has but in a bit more practical way. I was actually suprised by the room inside and the lack of creature comforts was fine by me.

I love how the exige looks and the extra 20hp of course is cool. the one thing I worry about is visibility changing lanes. this would be a weekend toy only. Probably not tracked much or anything. But I did worry about changing lanes with no rear view. the elise is better in this regard, but I like the exige styling better.

The elise was a "final edition"

the exige was a 1800mile used demo model.

Any input or advice is welcomed. I know it's cheaper than a lambo or something, but it is still a lot of money on my veterinary salary.

nice to meet you guys!

·
Registered
297 Posts
I think as a car they would be the closest thing to a bike.