The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there,

I'm a Swiss automotive fine artist and came across your great forum. Unfortunately I do not own a Lotus and I hope you won't crucify me for this but I have a 1968 Porsche 911...
I do love the Elise though, but I think it's too expensive in the US. If I lived in the Europe I'd buy an MKI Elise in a heartbeat (my cousin actually designed that car).

OK, now to my question: I'm currently working on a Lotus 79 painting and during my research I came across several different versions of this car.
I would like to confirm that the photograph below is from the 1978 season (the year Andretti won the F1 Championship).
Is the livery correct for that year (1978)? I don't seem to remember the Union Jack in front of the 'J' on the side of the car.

I'm not using this photograph/angle of the car per se, I would just like to confirm the livery of the car.

Many thanks,
Nicolas Hunziker

Attachments

·
Registered
2,731 Posts
...i have nothing of substance to add to the discussion, but i just recognised that i used to have a little matchbox one of these in third grade...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for your kind words in regards to my art.

I'd post my latest Lotus painting but I'm not sure if it's OK to post paintings (commercial posts) in this forum.

Regards,
n.

·
Forum Founder
29,081 Posts
Thanks for your kind words in regards to my art.

I'd post my latest Lotus painting but I'm not sure if it's OK to post paintings (commercial posts) in this forum.

Regards,
n.

It should be fine and appreciated. We allow people to post tvs in headrests.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9