The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
First off I know search is my friend. I have been searching this question, but I still have questions.

First off, I'm coming frrom a Cayman R. I ran Pirelli Trofeo R's on that car. A set ran me around $1800 and 16-20 heat cycles, though I have pushed them harder. These are the stickiest tires I have ever run, meaning I have never run on slicks. Perhaps I should be considering a non slick until I get some miles in the 211?

On my Audi TTRS I ran the AD08's and thought they were a good choice.

The Lotus A005's seem to be difficult to buy in Canada. I can import them from the US, but they just get too expensive to do that as a permanent solution. I'm still working on it as they are the considered the best solution.

Thr next solution is the Hoosier A6 or R6 tires. Some guys say the light 211 is fine for track days and time attack on the A6, others say you should go R6. I have no experience with this tire or the 211, so please weigh in if you have any thoughts, experience or data. SIZES F 205/45 R16, R 245/40 R17. These bring me very close to the Yoko diameters and section width.

Of course the R888's are a possibility. Again I have never run them, but I hear so much negativity towards that tire. Its possible the heavier Porsche's have more of an issue and the light Lotus is a better match? Again thoughts based on experience and data would be much appreciated.

For cold and wet weather is there a preferred tire? I just got off the phone with someone telling me to use Toyo R1R's??? These seem like an odd choice for a track only car.

Is there another option I should be considering?

Again, sorry if this is a tired subject, but I want to make the most of my first year in the car.

Premium Member
I would contact Andy (APK919), Jack or some of the other top Lotus Cup guys. They have massive amounts of seat time with different tires and compounds.

Chris

Registered
Discussion Starter #3