The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone I am going to look at a 88 esprit turbo tomorrow and was told by the owner that the turbo was not in the best of shape apparently ran a bit dry and bearings are noisy I believe they use garrst3 turbo's are these expensive to repair or replace as this will enter into negotiations for the price. I am a car enthusiast but know nothing about these cars except what I read on Wikipedia. I want something different to drive that's not going to be completely problematic. I am a decent mechanic and master watchmaker so I am pretty mechanically inclined any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanx Rik:D

·
Registered
3,322 Posts
It's great that you can do work yourself but just the parts can be very expensive, especially on a problematic '88. If the turbo is bad it can mean there is a whole lot more going on. The other big problem area is the transmission/engine interface. When a $.90 clip goes bad the input shaft of the transmission screws itself into the crankshaft of the motor. This necessitates the removal of the motor and transmission and the complete rebuild of both units. Once it is apart you usually also go for a clutch and a whole bunch of other stuff. The very best money you can spend right now is for a PPI (Pre-Purchase-Inspection) by someone who really knows what they are looking at, a LOTUS expert. He will examine the service history and the car and tell you if it is a minor problem or a major problem and what it will cost to "sort" the car out.
David Teitelbaum

·
Banned
1,594 Posts
Much better to start with a car that flys through the PPI and everything is working. Then you will still have a lot of things to fix. If it's a basket case from the start, you better enjoy working on it as much if not more than driving it.