The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
5,709 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So this weekend I went to clean my IAC Valve/Throttle Body. Unfortunately I wasn't able to do it in the morning so I went to lunch and when I came back the darn thing was so hot I couldn't barely touch it without burning my finger. How would it ever be possible to get cool air into the engine with this thing so damn hot... It's like a big heat sink. That got me wondering why it got so hot int he first place. Could it be that it's just a very hot engine bay? I mean the engine cover was just as hot!

Anyway, I noticed two hoses going from the engine coolant outlet to the throttle body. Why is this? (yes I am a noob!) It turns out the coolant is meant to warm the throttle body so they don't freeze over during winters. Well, for those such as myself living in a region with a warm climate year round, it's overkill. I found some forum posts on the RAV4 forum that you can safely bypass the coolant. And so I did. It was very easy and took about 5 minutes to do with a 3/8-3/8 union fitting I picked up at Home Depot for $2.65.

Anyway, before I installed it needed a baseline measurement, and after a 30 minute drive the throttle body was just over 150 degrees (151 °F to be precise, measured right at the top of the throttle body using an infrared tool about an inch away.)

Below is my install photo. The only problem I ran into was a little bit of antifreeze got on my hand. But nothing really squirted out, I made sure to pull off the hoses nice and slow while pulling it off with the hose pointed the hose upward. No need to pinch the hoses or anything. As soon as air enters the hose it flows back down into the engine.

I literally just got to work just now (after a 30 minute drive), and took a measurement -- 107°F. That's a 44 degree difference! The throttle body was only luke warm to the touch. NICE!!!