The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm upset and going to go on a rant and see what other Exige owners think about this topic...

Is it just me or are others frustrated with people's ignorance towards the Exige? Why do people think the Exige is a "cool" car but can't compare to a corvette or GTR on track?

I have a video of my last lapping day of me catching up to a GTR and passing him. Granted I'm sure he wasn't the best driver to ever grace the seat of a GTR but it did seem like he knew what he was doing. Then again any idiot can put down a great lap time in a GTR. Not the case with the Exige.

So I'm telling a few car people about it and show them the video then they go on making up excuses about why I caught up. I'm just a really good driver (wish this one was true lol...), the track is more suited for small light cars (went on comparing my Exige S 260 to a miata :no: ) and other non sense.

My car certainly is no Ferrari 458 but it still a force to be reckoned with on the track!

So am I just getting upset over nothing or have other people shared this frustration?

·
Registered
1,980 Posts
First, I might ask why you care what other people think of your car if they haven't bothered to take a drive with you in it? Do you also ask other people who don't have sex with you what they think of your penis? :)

Seriously, the Exige *is* a bit underpowered in stock S220 form. I think once you get up toward 300hp (which is easy to do), the equation changes and the Exige is *clearly* more fun to drive - it's not even close. Most people only see HP, and conclude that is the end of driving excitement - which if that were true would totally explain why people think Miatas are so much fun.... oh wait, they have cognitive dissonance when it comes to evaluating what they really want in a car. Why would you trust their opinions?

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts