The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi scnax,

i am starting to see more people use the Non-Contact Infrared Thermometer/pyrometer from radio shack or others, is it any good? does it provide accurate readings? at least consistent readings? i think it's a nice little gadget but i m wondering if anyone has done comparisons on the infrared vs the oldfashion poking pyrometer if they give similar readings.

·
Member # 16
180 Posts
mashimaro said:
hi scnax,

i am starting to see more people use the Non-Contact Infrared Thermometer/pyrometer from radio shack or others, is it any good? does it provide accurate readings? at least consistent readings? i think it's a nice little gadget but i m wondering if anyone has done comparisons on the infrared vs the oldfashion poking pyrometer if they give similar readings.
I have no first hand experience in comparing the two, but I'm told that he infrared pyrometers are not as accurate as a prode pyrometer. I guess the infrared ones are good for ballpark stuff, but not so good when you want to know the true measurment. Plus the temp you really want to know it the one inside the tire, not on the surface. The surface temp changes very qucikly and will be cooled off by driving from the finish line to the pre-grid.

The prode, just in case you don't know, pokes 2-3mm into the rubber to get it's reading. Then it takes the tmep reading from the very tip of the prode, which would then be inbeded 3mm into the surface of the rubber.

·
Registered
132 Posts
well, for me persoanlly, i just want a reading, accurate or not, i am just interested in the differences across the tire surface and try to get them as even or actually hotter on the inside which would mean i have camber :) The Radio Shack one is only $50 and I've seen it in action. One cool feature is the scan feature, in where for as long as you hold the button, it will give readings as you scan across the tire.